Google
 
Web 3DShoots.com

View Full Version : New software detects Archerytalk Virus?


Chris
12-03-2008, 08:11 AM
This could be a false alarm but I upgraded my antivirus software last night to norton internet security 2009.

It blocks my viewing of archerytalk.com and reports the following.
Accessing it results in Norton blocking a HTTP Malicious Toolkit Variant Activity
Risk level is high

I get this each time I try to view the site. Specifically it came up on this url
www.archerytalk.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=3 (http://www.archerytalk.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=3)

My gut reaction was false alarm until it showed up as coming in on TCP port 1685

Here is what norton shows
Severity: High
This attack could pose a serious security threat. You should take immediate action to stop any damage or prevent further damage from happening.
Additional Information
This signature detect attempts to download exploits from a malicious toolkit which may compromise a computer through various vendor vulnerabilities.

harleyryder
12-03-2008, 08:18 AM
Soooooooo this means what in English lol ? As I said no other site I use is affected. Never had this problem before RK decided to retire:noidea:

TOOL
12-03-2008, 08:30 AM
I got the same thing. AT has gone from slow to malicious.:D

Chris
12-03-2008, 08:39 AM
It means they may have a nasty little virus running ramant on their servers and if you visit there, you may too now have this nasty little virus.

jcmorgan31
12-03-2008, 08:41 AM
Maybe it is the "delete all Elite threads" virus...... :lol: :lol:

Gator eye
12-03-2008, 08:50 AM
DANG IT!!!


I knew I should of signed on here first!:censored:

CutTheLoop
12-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Got the same report from Sophos this morning. Probably an ad.

Chris
12-03-2008, 09:00 AM
admins over there confirmed that a bunch of people are getting the warning. May not be a false alarm. Surfers beware.

bullfiddle
12-03-2008, 09:01 AM
admins over there confirmed that a bunch of people are getting the warning. May not be a false alarm. Surfers beware.

Let's just hope nobody drags it over here... :tape: :tape: :tape:

harleyryder
12-03-2008, 09:11 AM
admins over there confirmed that a bunch of people are getting the warning. May not be a false alarm. Surfers beware.

Well my feeling are this................Until I hear from Chris here that is all clear I'm outa there:nono:

Reed
12-03-2008, 09:28 AM
my antivirus, blocked me from going there to.

steve bear
12-03-2008, 09:49 AM
i'm blocked out by norton.:hug:

Flinch8
12-03-2008, 09:57 AM
My AVG showed it as a trojon horse. Tried to remove damaged files then AVG said it couldnt find them. What tha! Help Don

Chris
12-03-2008, 10:08 AM
Let's just hope nobody drags it over here... :tape: :tape: :tape:

If it is in fact true that they have a trojan/virus, then it is on their server. Our server can't be infected by theirs, it doesn't work that way.

dbdcougar
12-03-2008, 10:45 AM
:tape: :tape: :tape: :tape: :tape:

archer1983
12-03-2008, 11:23 AM
It means they may have a nasty little virus running ramant on their servers and if you visit there, you may too now have this nasty little virus.

Thank god I have a MAC. :p

bullfiddle
12-03-2008, 01:04 PM
If it is in fact true that they have a trojan/virus, then it is on their server. Our server can't be infected by theirs, it doesn't work that way.

It could still carry a trojan horse virus in the form of a embedded video or a link or even an attachment.... They have YouTube videos out now that you watch em and blam they got ya. Might not get the server that your on at the time but it will get the guy/gal watching it...

Here's is just an example.... http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/obamavideo.asp

Chris
12-03-2008, 01:09 PM
I think they may have it fixed. Anyone with Norton want to visit and see if they still get the warning message.

CutTheLoop
12-03-2008, 01:45 PM
I think they may have it fixed. Anyone with Norton want to visit and see if they still get the warning message.


I'm running Sophos Corporate edition, updated daily. Have only had the one instance. I have been back n forth on AT all day.

jdawg240
12-03-2008, 02:19 PM
I just got on no issues with my work PC. Its on a lan so Im not sure what virus wear the geek has running.

steve bear
12-03-2008, 03:21 PM
i'm blocked out by norton.:hug:

working for me now.....

beenfarr
12-03-2008, 03:38 PM
Earlier today I allowed an Active X controller to run from AT. I figured it would be OK...Am I doomed??? Just restaged my my laptop...no virus protection yet!



Ben

CutTheLoop
12-03-2008, 03:42 PM
Earlier today I allowed an Active X controller to run from AT. I figured it would be OK...Am I doomed??? Just restaged my my laptop...no virus protection yet!



Ben

The first Iread on it, was "low threat level", yet, whatever it is could allow something more damaging in the door.

You can at least do an online scan of your system, until or before you get your usual anti-virus sw going.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

beenfarr
12-03-2008, 04:01 PM
The first Iread on it, was "low threat level", yet, whatever it is could allow something more damaging in the door.

You can at least do an online scan of your system, until or before you get your usual anti-virus sw going.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

Thanks Man!

Ben

Archerdad
12-03-2008, 07:50 PM
you guys might also try downloading zonealarm firewall. that will keep everything locked down for you pretty well also. they used to have a free edition not sure if they still do.

bullfiddle
12-03-2008, 07:53 PM
you guys might also try downloading zonealarm firewall. that will keep everything locked down for you pretty well also. they used to have a free edition not sure if they still do.

They still have a free edition... But you have to train it to allow what traffic you want to come in and go out and unless your a computer nerd it can become a nightmare to deal with.:noidea:

Archerdad
12-03-2008, 08:07 PM
They still have a free edition... But you have to train it to allow what traffic you want to come in and go out and unless your a computer nerd it can become a nightmare to deal with.:noidea:

well not real bad, but it definately keeps stuff out...viruses are like this:frusty:

Ronhop
12-03-2008, 11:44 PM
AT can be a virus unto itself sometimes..... :laugh:

Ron

dbdcougar
12-04-2008, 04:07 AM
AT can be a virus unto itself sometimes..... :laugh:

Ron

Now see what you did, I wasn't going to start down that road - oh well guess my :tape: 's are going to have to become :lol: 's

rdnkgrl_robinhood
12-04-2008, 07:58 AM
I was able to get on AT all day yesterday but as of early this morning no dice.
I am running a mac and so far it doesn't appear to have affected my computer, it just wont open the pages on AT

YankeeRebel
12-04-2008, 08:01 AM
I think they may have it fixed. Anyone with Norton want to visit and see if they still get the warning message.

I'm still getting the Virus detection thru my Norton.It won't let me on ArcheryTalk at all!! :mad:

Slippy
12-04-2008, 08:02 AM
It means they may have a nasty little virus running ramant on their servers and if you visit there, you may too now have this nasty little virus.

not worth the effort.