You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default wanting to get into bow hunting

Hello I'm new to the the forum and from across the pond.
    I've been an a gamekeeper for many years now and have alway done my hunting with a rifle or shotgun,however I'm very keen to get into hunting with a bow and am loooking for info on the best bow to buy technics of bowhunting and any thing more that people think will help me.
    I come to our cousins in america as hunting with a bow in the U.K has been outlawed since the sixtys and you have vast knolage of the subject.
    I live in europe so can hunt with a bow in many of these countrys as well as a trip I have booked to south africa in june hunting atelope and bush pig and a possable trip to the USA later in the year where i would really like to hunt with the bow.
    So if any one can help i'll be very greatfull
    Thanks

Wow, I tell ya what, just book a trip for me with ya and I can get you up to speed on bow hunting real quick! First and foremost, you need to get out and shoot, I don't know what kind of local shops are around you if any. Go to the shops, if available and shoot a variety of bows from different manufacturers and then decide which felt the most comfortable. Hoyts are my favorite, bowtechs are great performers, PSE has some nice models, I don't care for mathews - just seem plain jane for $800+. Parker, Reflex, and Diamond are also well known manufacturers. If you plan on hunting this upcoming season now is the time to get started practicing. Good luck, post up any questions you have along the way and we will help to the best of our knowledge, some are more help than others. haha! to the forum.
    Hoyt Trykon-390 gr.@280fps.
    Truglo Tool-less / 5-.019" pins
    WB/Double STS/S-Coil Stab./CSS Tunerz
    5575 GT XT Hunters/G5 Tekan-II/Tru-Ball Copperhead

Quote Originally Posted by frag View Post