You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default New bow questions

I'm new to bow hunting. I just purchased a fred bear sparrowhawk II which I plan to use for hunting in the fall for deer. I wasn't sure if this would be the right bow for me. Let me give you a break down. The bow is 24-28 draw length and 40-50 lbs draw weight. I'm a big guy at 6-3 and 260 lbs. from what I was told. I need a bow with a draw of 28-29 inches but I'm not sure if this bow will fit me right. Any help would be appreciate. From the reviews of this bow it looks like a younger hunters bow or womans bow??

Quote Originally Posted by dubnvento View Post
    I'm new to bow hunting. I just purchased a fred bear sparrowhawk II which I plan to use for hunting in the fall for deer. I wasn't sure if this would be the right bow for me. Let me give you a break down. The bow is 24-28 draw length and 40-50 lbs draw weight. I'm a big guy at 6-3 and 260 lbs. from what I was told. I need a bow with a draw of 28-29 inches but I'm not sure if this bow will fit me right. Any help would be appreciate. From the reviews of this bow it looks like a younger hunters bow or womans bow??
    The specs on it appear to be for smaller framed people. At 6'3" I'd guess you'd need at least a 30" bow and at 260lbs, you'll probably be more than comfortable hunting with 60 - 70 lbs. I'd guess the draw on it is at least 1 1/2" short for you.

You'll progress much faster and enjoy yourself a lot more if you get a bow that fits properly. Good luck....
    Pathfinder Arrow Wraps

I think your dead on. I did have my draw length taken by a archery dealer and they said I would use a 29" draw length. When I did it, I came up with