You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Fletching Question, Helical numbers

I recently bought a new dozen arrows, Carbon Express CX 300. They are the same arrows I have used since I started shooting. The previous dozen or so I bought came in a box already fletched with a small amount of helical. Now these ones I bought the other day had to be fletched and the guy put them on straight. I gave him an arrow for reference, but I guess if you don't ask for anything different then they put them on straight. That seemed to be their policy anyway when I asked if I could get them re-done.

I know I will have to have them redone at some point. For the time being I sighted my bow to accomodate the new config. My questions is this:

Does anyone know what degree of helical those CE CX 300 arrows come with from the factory?

It's usually a 2 degree offset...

straight is 2 and Helical is 11

Thanks!

Next question:

What Fletching jig can I get that would have the ability to give me that 2 degrees, or maybe even a bit more?

And also be user friendly for a beginner.

I have looked at all kinds of brands but it is hard to choose when youhave never done this yourself. I kind of liked the idea of that EZ AZ fletch system, but it didn't look like you had much option for configuration as far as the amount of helical.

I did not know helical was 11. I hear a bunch of different numbers in reference to the term.

so what I am looking for is a jig that can allow me to experiment with differnt degrees of "offset." I would like to increase my offset on a few arrows and see how much of a difference it makes in my accuracy when shooting my broadhead. I use a fixed blade Muzzy 100g.

I guess my ultimate goal is to find the best mix for both broadhead and field point.
    Last edited by vmabuck; 04-13-2008 at 08:08 PM.

I use a jo jan they are are about $35 and easy to use

Banned