You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Turkey hunting questions

Well, I'm kinda new to turkey hunting. Went out today with my blind and bow. Had someone calling for me that has been pretty successfull killing them with a gun.

today we saw a few. Heard some gobbles, etc.

To start with we had a Primos B-mobile in full strut and a primos she mobile hen out.

No response from any of the turkeys that saw the spread. So we put out two more hens and a jake.

Saw a tom come out into the field. Did some calling he looked but just keep feeding along and never ever came in.

We saw one half hearted strut by a tom but that was it.

Any thoughts? Is this like the rut, you just don't know if a bird is ready?
    Chris Christenson - Admin
    3DShoots.com - Find Archery Shoots near you
    ObsessionArchery.com - Archery Supplies

You've just experienced 99% of the your future turkey hunting experiences.. Curse those nervous jittery creatures. They are very hard to figure out sometimes. I've had turkeys hang up at teeny tiny dry bed creeks and refuse to cross. Just sit and gobble their heads off. Crazy animals. I bet you enjoyed the heck out of yourself anyway didn't ya????

Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    Well, I'm kinda new to turkey hunting. Went out today with my blind and bow. Had someone calling for me that has been pretty successfull killing them with a gun.

today we saw a few. Heard some gobbles, etc.

To start with we had a Primos B-mobile in full strut and a primos she mobile hen out.

No response from any of the turkeys that saw the spread. So we put out two more hens and a jake.

Saw a tom come out into the field. Did some calling he looked but just keep feeding along and never ever came in.

We saw one half hearted strut by a tom but that was it.

Any thoughts? Is this like the rut, you just don't know if a bird is ready?