You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Thinking about recurves

I've been toying with the idea of buying a recurve, mainly just to fool around with, but maybe to hunt with as well. I've seen some gorgeous vintage Bears and Brownings for cheap on eBay, which has me going to you folks for some advice.

My compound is set for 62#, but I imagine that I probably shouldn't go much over 50# with a recurve, correct?

My draw length is 29", so should I plan on a 60" bow, or could I maybe go shorter?

In keeping with that whole traditional thing, I like the idea of feathered cedar arrows, but I know there are certainly some drawbacks (warping, non-replaceable heads, breaking, etc.). Are aluminum or carbon arrows, if splined appropriately, ok to use?

I'm sure I'll have more questions as time goes on, but I'd appreciate your help with these for now.

Recurves are great, and I am far from an expert but...
    You can use carbon arrows no problem.
    as for DW, most recurves are built on a standard 28" DL so if it's a 40# bow that's at 28". You can draw it farther but after 30" the bow is actually out of its peak range, so folks with a long draw usually need a custom bow the same with youth's and short draws...That said you add or subtract about 3# for every inch over or under the DL( 40# @28", 43# @29", 37# @27")
    I would recommend for you to start with a 40-45# bow 60 on a recurve is tough but you can work up to it...

now as for arrow use the same DW chart to pick a carbon arrow but fletch the arrows with feathers not vanes...
    Goor luck and keep us posted.

Quote Originally Posted by brokenarrow View Post
    Recurves are great, and I am far from an expert but...
    You can use carbon arrows no problem.