You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Need Help w/ a bow

I am fairly new to bowhunting. I have shot the last few years with a PSE Nova. I know this is an introductory bow and I'm now looking to upgrade. I'm looking for a good all around bow (moderately priced) no more than $500.00. I was looking at the PSE thunderbolt. Can anyone give me some ideas on quality bows. I'd appreciate the advice.

Sophia's dad

I just went through the same ordeal. R U looking for new or used?

Default reply

Nobody real LIKES parker because they make mediocre bows. They aren't bad, but they aren't tops. Most guys just spend the extra 100-200 on fancy junk. If you are realy strapped on budget, check them out.

Tell us a bit more so we can help you. Do you plan on using it mainly for hunting? Are 4'' groups acceptable at 30 yards, or must you be smacking shaft to shaft? Do you know anything about your cam aggresion preferences and let of likes? Tree stand or ground hunter? Average shot distance? Do you pack your bow long distances into the woods(must you have a light bow?)?

There are alot of great bows out there for $500 and under. Just need to visit alot of shops unless you are lucky enough to have one that carries all the manufacturers. Good luck and have fun looking.

"HONDA"

I would look into the Martin Bengal not a bad priced bow I believe in the low to mid 400. I have been shooting one for 2 years now and this is my second one it is also my 3rd Martin over all. It is also voted the best buy the last 2 years in bowhunter magazine. If someone around you is a dealer check it out

The PSE Thunderbolt is a great bow. I had one with the old maxis dual cam, it was a good shooter.

Default New bow