You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Nocks breaking my arrows

Hello everyone. I'm a novice archer. I am currently using a PSE DeerHunter S3 with a 55# 29" draw. I am shooting with a D-Loop and trigger release, and using Beman 500 ICS Hawk arrows (7.1 grain / inch) - with 100Gr points.

I've been noticing that I've destroyed about 4 arrows already, shooting at burlap bags filled with clothes, sometimes missing and hitting the dirt pile behind. Sometimes I've noticed that the nocks pop off but typically the back of the arrow is splintered. A few questions:

1. I am supposed to glue the nocks in? They come from the manufacturer with the nocks already quite snug in place.

2. Am I able to cut back the splintered part and still use the arrow? Can I put the nock within a few increments from the fletchings? typically it's like 1 inch away but if I remove all the splintered portions it wil lbe right behind the fletchings

3. Is something wrong? How long do arrows normally last under normal target shooting conditions? I've shot about 7 days now and have already destroyed 4 arrows.

do not glue the nocks in place......

maybe think about getting a better arrow in the future.....

usually this happens when you hit something hard......
    I cut things up and split them down!

Quote Originally Posted by BUNNYMAN View Post
    do not glue the nocks in place......

maybe think about getting a better arrow in the future.....

usually this happens when you hit something hard......
    Yeah, if you are having nocks coming out of a carbon shaft and the nocks are the correct size for the shaft you are hitting something with the arrow that the arrow was not designed to hit...