You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Arrows + Newbie Questions

Hello Guys!

Well... I'm totally new at everything related to archery... so please excuse me if I seem waaaaay to ignorant in my questions... and although I have been reading this forum for about a week or so (today I finally decided to register...) I do have a couple of questions that I haven't been able to figure out (yet...)

Ok, here is my story... I do not have any local shops around (so basically I'm gonna have to learn things the hard way...) and from all the techniques and tips I've read here in the past few days I decided to purchase a used Martin Magnum Cougar Bow... which specs are as follows:

* Adjustable from 45-60#

* 29" of Draw Length (I followed the techniques of wingspan measurement... divided by 2.5 etc... and and also this site's technique http://www.merlinarcherycentre.co.uk/firstequipment.htm and came to the conclusion that my draw lenght apparently is 29" in both cases.. although I am 6'3" tall and and based onsome other info and tables I've read it should be 30" > ?)

*Holding weight is 50%

So we will see how comfortable is once its gets here...

However, I am totally lost in the arrow measurement and specs.
    I have no idea where to start...
    I was thinking of some arrows I saw at ebay like:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/6-NEW-Custom-Car...QQcmdZViewItem
    but I am not sure at all... Most arrows I've seen online come 'uncut', so... based on the specs of my bow, how long should my arrows be cut to?
    I've seen you all recomend those GT 22 goldtip arrows but... honestly, starting out... I thought I should get "cheap" arrows first to try the bow? Is that a bad idea? Do I need anything else before I can actually shoot an arrow with my newly acquired bow?