You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default New guy here - beginner's questions

Hi!

first of all, hello averybody, that's my first post on this place.

I'm a real beginner.
    Already shot a couple of arrows in vacation clubs, but I had never shot any compound bow before I got mine.

I've bought an 06 Elite E500 in pretty good condition, with Muzzy Rest and brand new string ($350).
    I'm still waiting for my sights (Apex 3rd plane) and some modules from Elite since the D/L of this bow is a little short for me.

This bow is a 70lbs. It's set up at the minimum but still very hard to pull. I'm doing push-ups every day and train me to develop the muscles I'm missing
    I know I should vave taken an easier one, but small money = small choice.

My first question is in regard with the muzzy rest. How am I suppose to arrange the 3 "wings" of the arrow? (English is not my language, I don't know the proper word).
    Should the vertical one be up or down?

Other question is for the peep sight. Where on the string am I supposed to install it? What distance from the loop?

Thanks!

Well first off your "wings" are called vanes and the odd vane should be facing down. You have 3 vanes 2 of which are the same color the single color or odd should be facing down. As far as setting up your peep sight, since you are new I highly suggest you bringing your bow to your local archery shop and have them install this for you.

Hope this helps.

Find an archery shop. They will be very helpful and have you doing things the right way. instead of guessing and getting things all wrong. There is nothing worse than having things wrong. It will just lead to frustration.
    GO TEAM 12

At least I admit Im Crazy Looney Bin's Avatar