You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Thread: New to 3dshoots

ty

Default New to 3dshoots

hello all im new to 3d shoots, i am a member of archery talk. I dont really know if htis is the same sight or same deal. BUt i have my first post for you. I live in brooklyn michigan and im looking for someone to teach me the ropes of using a back tension release.Any info or help would be appreciated

I dont know of any coaches in Michigan but maybe somebody else will chime in.

Welcome to the forum...
    I am sure some one can help you here so we'll keep you up top for a while.

Dont know much about it but there are several people around here that do.
    Good luck and welcome to the family
    GO TEAM 12

ty

let me get it back ttt

I don't use a "Back Tension Release" (BTR) per se, instead I use a trigger release. A BTR is different in that it's T-shaped and is released using the thumb instead of a trigger. The back tension itself is the actual motion produced when bringing the shoulder blades together using the large Rhomboid muscles in the back when drawing the bow and when holding at draw.. In any event, today I started to use back tension to release the trigger on my release and I think the process is basically the same for a BTR. Prior to using back tension as a way of releasing the arrow, I would squeeze the trigger. This created some “anticipation” problems. I'll compare the before & after techniques that I've experienced.

Hope this starts the explanation. Others can critique & elaborate.

Sorry for the lengthy post, but as I mentioned above, I’m currently using a back tension approach (not a back tension release) to release the trigger. Up until now I’ve done the following:

1. Focus on the target and never leave it visually or in concentration.
    2. Come to full draw - right up to the wall.
    3. Confirm anchor.
    4. Place trigger on trigger.