You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Red face Want to choose 3d/ target competition bow

I want to choose a bow for target and 3d competition. I want a bow that will not break the rules. I heard for target you can not go over 60# and for 3d cannot exceed 288 fps. If I use a bow with a 70# max but have it set at 60# will that be alright? What other considerations are there? Where can I find guidelines? Thanks for the help. I am new at this and need some direction.

IBO 5gr/lb

ASA 280 Fps

I choose an Apex 7 I shoot well within the 5gr per lb but I am too fast for ASA at 294

I mostly shoot IBO,,,not alot of ASA in Indiana

I have a conquest apex at 52 lbs and 29.5 draw. and my speed is ok...only 266fps with a 353 grain arrow.

Default Several good 3d bows

Quote Originally Posted by alaz View Post
    I want to choose a bow for target and 3d competition. I want a bow that will not break the rules. I heard for target you can not go over 60# and for 3d cannot exceed 288 fps. If I use a bow with a 70# max but have it set at 60# will that be alright? What other considerations are there? Where can I find guidelines? Thanks for the help. I am new at this and need some direction.

Hoyt Pro Elite Bows are awesome
    Mathews the C4 a great bow.
    Elite the GT500 and XLR
    Pse the money maker
    Alpine Ventura Bow.

I shot a GT500 from Elite for speed and Im able to shoot a heavy arrow with my short draw at 280fps for ASA. This bow could do IBO and ASA. Its a speed bow with accuracy.
    DB
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Elite bows, Vortex Binos, Trophy Taker sights, Carter releases, Goldtip Arrows. CBE sights, Vapor Trail Strings, B Stinger stabilizers

you can shoot over 60lbs of draw weight

Quote Originally Posted by ba3darcher View Post
    you can shoot over 60lbs of draw weight
    Except for NAA/FITA events...
    Mike "Javi" Cooper

You can try and find a used Mathews Ovation.