You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Field Point Weight?

I'm completely new to 3D. What is the most popular grain field point everyone uses for 3D?

Not sure if there is any popular point weight that I have seen. Seems like most use what works best with their bow/arrow configuration as far as spine and FOC.

I use an 85grn myself.

Default Robo1

Usually field points can weight anything from 90 grns to 140grns which I use.

It depends on the total arrow weight and spine of arrow your using.
    DB
    Elite bows, Vortex Binos, Trophy Taker sights, Carter releases, Goldtip Arrows. CBE sights, Vapor Trail Strings, B Stinger stabilizers

Arrow point weight is a factor in getting proper arrow spine for your draw weight, letoff and draw length, obviously as well as arrow stiffness itself...

You should just not run out and get a 125 grain point because it's the most popular.

You need to 'build' your arrow with the proper point weight for your bow, along with vanes/feathers and nocks/bushings, ect.... that's beneficial to your setup and what you want to do with your bow. You said you wanted to do 3D. Lighter overall weight is most likely better in a built arrow for 3D however the arrow still needs to match your bow.

But having said that, you could hunt with one arrow setup and shoot 3D with another arrow setup. You would need to re-tune and re-sight-in when you switched arrows but you could have the best of both worlds if you did it that way. I know a lot of people who do that if they just have hunting bows and nothing dedicated to 3D or indoor target. They shoot target with one arrow setup and one sight and then swap arrows and sight for hunting... A little re-tuning in between and you have a nice compromise.

Ron
    Proud member of the F.B.S.A.

Official turkey baster and member of the FBSA R-100 eating team....