You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Hoyt Bow Problems

Hi I am new to target archery and was hoping someone could help me with a problem. I recently purchased a Hoyt Pro Elite, 3000 limbs, cam and a half plus. My rest is a trophy taker spring steel and a have an axcel 3000 sight. When i brought my bow home it was shooting great. At 20 and 30 yard, i could put up 2 inch groups. Over the past week, my groups have started to drift. What i mean by this is my 2 inch group moved 4 inches to the right, and then 3 inches up the day after that. I have checked all the screws on the bow to make sure they are tight, and my peep is not moving. I used lock tight on the bracket holding my sight to the bow. I would appreciate any insight that some of you more experianced shooters could give me.

At least I admit Im Crazy Looney Bin's Avatar

How many shots do you have on those new strings and cables??? Have you checked the rotation and draw stop timing???
    Of all the things I lost I miss my mind the Most!?!?!?

i have about 300-400 shots with my new bow. I am not sure how to check the timing you are talking about. do you know if there is a "break in" period on the bow?

Quote Originally Posted by bbarton123 View Post
    i have about 300-400 shots with my new bow. I am not sure how to check the timing you are talking about. do you know if there is a "break in" period on the bow?
    The answer to your question is yes, but the break in period is not on your bow but the strings and cables. As you putting the first 100-200 shots or so the strings and cables will stretch a bit. This will throw of the rotation or Draw stop timing. After little bit the string/cables will stop stretching. Which is where you sound like your at. Go to a knowledgeable shop and ask them to check the timing. It shouldn't take more than a few twists in the cables and string to fix your problem.