You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member sgmathews92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Prince George, BC Canada
    Posts
    137

    Default shooting off a loop, with a loop

    I have a stan magmicro 4 finger, and Im shooting with a D loop now right now, but my shooting coach told me to try taking off the D loop and shoot off the string for less torque. But when I took off the D loop, my anchor point changed and I can't keep the bow steady on the target. I went from shooting 1" groups at 20, to 3 inch groups low and to the right one shot, and high and to the left on another. Should I put the d loop back on the string? Or is it a bad idea to shoot a loop with a loop

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member sgmathews92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Prince George, BC Canada
    Posts
    137

    Default

    here is my release
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    274

    Default

    I shot a loop with a loop for a few years without any problems

  4. #4
    Senior Member Ancient Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Why would you want a 2nd loop? Seems to me that with a D-loop there is no need to use another loop off the release. Also, wouldn't that really bring your anchor point a bit far back? I think using a single loop, either the D-loop or the release loop would help to keep a consistent anchor. When using the release loop are you using a nock point?
    "A Nation of Sheep Breeds a Government of Wolves!"
    2007/2008 Commander: 60lb/28" DL, HHA OL5519, Code Red, Choc Addiction, .400 Axis, Self-made Shoot-Thru
    2010 Elite GT500: 60lb/HHA DS5500, QAD UltraRest HD Pro Series, Victory VForce HV 400
    1965 Bear Kodiak Magnum Recurve 50lb, 52", Original Bear Quiver & Cedar Arrows

  5. #5
    Senior Member sgmathews92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Prince George, BC Canada
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ancient Archer View Post
    Why would you want a 2nd loop? Seems to me that with a D-loop there is no need to use another loop off the release. Also, wouldn't that really bring your anchor point a bit far back? I think using a single loop, either the D-loop or the release loop would help to keep a consistent anchor. When using the release loop are you using a nock point?
    I don't have the money to order a new cam, so using a D loop with my release will give me the illusion that my draw length is longer. I don't put the tip of my nose on the string for my reference point so I don't see why it wouldn't be a bad idea to put a d loop back on. Plus if my release breaks for some weird reason, I can use my true fire release. Its a 29.5 draw, and I should be around 30.5, but I will wait to order a new cam.

    SG

  6. #6
    Senior Member sgmathews92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Prince George, BC Canada
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Yes I was using a nock point with the loop from my release

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Midwestern, USA
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sgmathews92 View Post
    Or is it a bad idea to shoot a loop with a loop

    Thanks

    sgmath...I tried shooting a loop release off of a string loop a few years ago, and scrapped the idea after the two loops got hung up and yanked my shoulder real good while pulling the release out of my hand.

    I would not recommend it, but that is just my opinion...mac

  8. #8
    Senior Member Ancient Archer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    NH
    Posts
    167

    Default

    If you feel you need to have both loops in use, why not just make the D-loop longer and eliminate the release loop?
    "A Nation of Sheep Breeds a Government of Wolves!"
    2007/2008 Commander: 60lb/28" DL, HHA OL5519, Code Red, Choc Addiction, .400 Axis, Self-made Shoot-Thru
    2010 Elite GT500: 60lb/HHA DS5500, QAD UltraRest HD Pro Series, Victory VForce HV 400
    1965 Bear Kodiak Magnum Recurve 50lb, 52", Original Bear Quiver & Cedar Arrows

  9. #9
    Senior Member sgmathews92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Prince George, BC Canada
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ancient Archer View Post
    If you feel you need to have both loops in use, why not just make the D-loop longer and eliminate the release loop?
    to do that I have to play with the travel on the release, but im not going to mess anything up before I go to nationals in two weeks. Bad idea to tinker right now

Similar Threads

  1. advantages of shooting with a d-loop?
    By jds-1 in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 12:59 PM
  2. to loop or not to loop!
    By the contractor in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 08:09 PM
  3. Loop Or No Loop?
    By TAKEMNOW in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-21-2008, 11:31 PM
  4. string loop
    By QDAWG44 in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 02-28-2007, 01:05 PM
  5. New string and D loop
    By sammo in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-12-2006, 10:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •