You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Americas Best Bow String Question

    I just put on a new set of Americas Best Bow String and cable. I put everything on correctly and turned the limbs up. It only shows 55 pounds . I did have my bow maxed at 64 pounds with my winners choice string. Does anyone know if the Amercias Best strings have to take time to settle before I can get my max pull weight? Im at a loss

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I have had the same problem with my pse stinger. Had mine set on 56lbs put America's Best on then it showed 46lbs. Thought my bow shop was just messing with me. Now I am confused.

  3. #3
    Super Member BuckeyeRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    N. Illinois
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    Huh? That's odd. I'm on my second set of strings and cables from America's Best w/ no problems.

    I'm assuming that everything was reset to factory spec. before measuring peak wt.?
    Be good or be good at it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member 'SIN'ERGY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Reading PA
    Posts
    1,143

    Default

    Twist up the cables to increase draw weight.
    SAVE A BUCK--SHOOT AN OUTFITTER

  5. #5
    Member MOBuzzCut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Springfield, Mo
    Posts
    170

    Default

    You need to check the measurement of the strings and cables.
    measure them under a 100#'s of tension. get them to factory spec then put them on check your poundage. It does not sound like the string and cable lengths are right.
    I'd Rather be BOWHUNTING!!!

  6. #6
    Senior Member hunter2678's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    644

    Default

    Strings sound like they need a few twists put in them thats all.
    Extreme Strings Staff......www.extremebowstrings.com

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I did put several twists in the string and its still the same. Even took off the cable and string and measured them and they are the same size as my winners choice.

  8. #8
    Senior Member hunter2678's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Central Ohio
    Posts
    644

    Default

    Is your brace height spot on? if its short it needs more twists until you get it there. If its too long then you have too much twist in the cables.
    Extreme Strings Staff......www.extremebowstrings.com

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    brace height in 7 exact. This is on a swichback

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    870

    Default

    With your limb bolts tight or maxed out, check and get your axle to axle at 33 at the same time adjust the cable to get your timing marks in their zone --- once your axle to axle and timing are close then check your poundage these two settings are more important than your brace height
    The only one that is your competitor is the air between your ears!



  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    870

    Default

    Has anyone heard if Brad was able to his bow figured out?



    Jeff
    The only one that is your competitor is the air between your ears!



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NE Indiana
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Call Jay He will help you out

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hunter2678 View Post
    Strings sound like they need a few twists put in them thats all.
    Twist the cable to increase poundage Check cam rotation.
    If it's over rotated it's easy to loose a bunch of lbs on a single cam.Remember,if you do a bunch of twisting in the cable,string adjustments will be necessary to compensate for cam rotation.
    Canam Connections/Tru Ball

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default americas best

    3 years, 2 bows(Xforce7s) new Americas Best 452x string/cables on both every year, and i shoot alot, not one problem, not one issue; sounds like you just need to put a few twist in the cable to get ur poundage right.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for the replies. I am still having the same problem. Even took it to the pro shop and they had the same problem. Im wondering if they sent me the wrong string.We put 30 twists in the cable and only got one extra pound out of it. im up to 56 pounds. Im going to reorder a winners choice again after all of the headaches I got from Americas Best. I am not to happy with their strings.

  16. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Americas Best Bow String Question "updated"

    I ordered another set of winners choice strings got them yesterday and just put them on and I am actually pulling 65 pounds. I took off the americas best string and cable and all 3 pro shops I went to were baffled. I could only get 56 pounds out of the americas best strings.

Similar Threads

  1. string loop question
    By eldermike in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 11:34 AM
  2. String Question
    By Slice in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 08:15 PM
  3. String Question?????
    By Ohioarcher in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 03:55 PM
  4. string weight question
    By bowcraze30 in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2007, 07:48 AM
  5. Question String Loops
    By bow-regard in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-2004, 11:37 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •