You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Pennsylvania
    Posts
    6

    Default Spots and 3D with same bow?

    How many shoot spots and 3D with the same bow?
    Today I shot for the first time in over 2 years, other than the 6 or so arrows every few months.

    I shot a round of spots with my AlphaMax 35 60-70 lbs, limbs are not quite all the way down but they are pretty close.

    I only shot a 550 which is bad, but shooting bowhunter, and close to 70 lbs was probably normal for that kind of time off.

    That is why I am asking, if you will be shooting some 3D, and spots at the same time, do you do it with the same bow. If I can get used to it, would be great having the exact same setup all the time, just not sure if its practical.

    Also do you loose accuracy shooting at the low end of the draw weight range?

  2. #2
    <<< Triumph! NerdHick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Columbia County, NY
    Posts
    814

    Default

    last year I was shooting a different bow for each, this year its one bow. I'm even shooting the same arrows, I'm tossing up the idea of getting another set of fatboys and making them super heavy for spots to slow things down a bit...

    shot a 298 35x with my 3-d set up, pins and 319 grain arrows, could I do better with a heavier arrow?? the lighter ones, I just miss faster, slower, might just miss slower?? Who knows.

    Bottom line is I want to get good with one set up and thats it, not mess around with multiple set ups...
    Mathews Staff Shooter Northern Dutchess Archery & Sportsman Supply - www.ndarchery.com

    TruBall & Axcel & Dead Center Archery Shooter Staff

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NW Pennsylvania
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NerdHick View Post
    last year I was shooting a different bow for each, this year its one bow. I'm even shooting the same arrows, I'm tossing up the idea of getting another set of fatboys and making them super heavy for spots to slow things down a bit...

    shot a 298 35x with my 3-d set up, pins and 319 grain arrows, could I do better with a heavier arrow?? the lighter ones, I just miss faster, slower, might just miss slower?? Who knows.

    Bottom line is I want to get good with one set up and thats it, not mess around with multiple set ups...
    I also thought about doing that, and actually thought about getting a second Identical sight. (spot hogg hogg it) and just swap out the 3d sight and spot sight when you switch arrows. Not cheap, but still cheaper than 2 bows.

  4. #4
    Super Member BuckeyeRed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    N. Illinois
    Posts
    1,067

    Default

    I use the same exact setup w/ my Apex 7 for both 3D and spots.

    Shooting 61# w/ 356g fatboys @ 270fps. Black eagle .50 diopter lens w/ .010 pin.

    I shoot primarily 3D and some spots, but I shot a 300 48X w/ it earlier this week so it works. I'd like to move the A7 to just indoor, when I do the M7 will be my new 3D rig.
    Be good or be good at it.

  5. #5
    Story of my life Radar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    N. Illinois
    Posts
    851

    Default

    I shoot the same setup for spots/3d/and Field. Hoyt ProElite,60#, shooting a 358 gr. fatboy. The one thing I have changed lately is switching to Lightspeed 400's for summer shooting (outdoor 3d and Field). smaller arrows dont have as much wind resistance when shooting at the 80 yd walkup
    Target: Hoyt ProElite XT3000 C2, 60# 30", CBE Quad Lite, CBE 3x .019, Trophy Taker, Easton Fatboy 400's(indoor) lightspeed 400 (outdoor)

    Hunting: 2009 Alphamax35 (Blacked out) 70#, 29", HHA Slider, Bisquit, Easton ACC 3-60, Rage 100 gr. 2 blade

  6. #6

    Default

    I'm trying to do it this year. Started shooting spots about 2+ months ago. Working out real well. I'm using my Prestige. Last year I switched off between 3 different bows, Prestige, Switchback and a Monster (just because I was told I couldn't ). Had pretty good results and a lot of fun.

  7. #7
    Honey Creek Pro Staff The_Kat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Texoma, Oklahoma
    Posts
    86

    Default

    I shoot my proelite for both. I just crank it all the way down for indoors, and all the way up for 3d. Indoors I shoot Triple Xs, 3d I shoot Victory X Ringers to get up to 280.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Huntelk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    392

    Default one bow for 3-d and spots

    Vantage elite, 64lbs with GT XXX's. 280 fps is all I need for any 3-d and I have no problem shooting 64lbs indoors.

    I sure wouldn't use that setup for field though!

Similar Threads

  1. cute spots!!!
    By HoosierShooter in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 05:18 PM
  2. Good spots
    By Holy Smokes in forum Bowhunting forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-28-2008, 09:13 AM
  3. My spots bow...
    By Cameron in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 07:08 AM
  4. Indoor spots
    By ib4hoyt in forum General Archery Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-09-2006, 11:07 AM
  5. vegas spots in taylorsville nc
    By wiseone in forum Tournament Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-27-2005, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •