You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Basic questions from a rookie

Hello, I just got my first bow in a trade with a friend. It is a Browning Timberwolf that came with basically nothing on it. I wanted to find out if anyone had any experience with this particular bow and, what add kind of accessories I should add. Also, I have been hearing a lot about bow setup. Should I take it to an archery store for this. I have no practical experience with a bow and want to try to get it ready for bow season this year.

Quote Originally Posted by drew_helean View Post
    Hello, I just got my first bow in a trade with a friend. It is a Browning Timberwolf that came with basically nothing on it. I wanted to find out if anyone had any experience with this particular bow and, what add kind of accessories I should add. Also, I have been hearing a lot about bow setup. Should I take it to an archery store for this. I have no practical experience with a bow and want to try to get it ready for bow season this year.

Hey Drew. I'll share what little I have learned so far in my month of being obsessed with this sport.

For accessories, the basics would be an arrow rest (to hold your arrows properly while it's nocked), a front sight and a peep sight (to help you align your front sight and make sure you are at the proper anchor point). Beyond that, there are stabilizers, dampeners, suppressors, etc.

And yes, you should go to a proshop so that they can set up the bow specifically for you -- each person has a different draw length and all that. Having the correct draw length will keep you at the same anchor (which is super important) and keep you from over drawing the bow.

Kiko, Awesome advice! Thank you! The bow came with the "Browning arrow rest" which is really nothing more than a small piece of plastic. Should I go with an aftermarket rest?

Quote Originally Posted by drew_helean View Post