You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default After 5 years I think I'm burnt

Usually this time of year I'm knee deep into indoor season, shooting every night. Fine tuning, adjusting, more practise, driving to shoots, league's ect....

This year I'm just not feeling it. I ve shot a 299 standing on the line in Vegas, but 299 is a far cry from the 300 I practise for. Shot 300 58x on a five spot and a perfect 60x game still seems like miles away. I feel like I gave it my best and still came up short. I just don't feel like spending hours on end standing on the practise line just to come up short another year.

I started shooting last night and it felt like work so I put the bow down and walked away.

Maybe I should take a year off. I mean if it's not fun why do it?

I walked away from shooting 3d this year mid-season for the same reason.

You ever burn yourself out?

Yes, I have burned myself out in the past--not with archery, but with another athletic endeavour. I'm not really sure putting the bow away will resolve the issue or bring back the "love" when you decide to pick it up again because your focus that got you to this point would still be there.

I suggest rather than taking a hiatus from shooting, that you alter why you shoot in the first place. Instead of grilling yourself for that elusive 300 game (I have only shot one and that was in practice, so it does not count... hehe) or perfect x count, focus on really perfecting an aspect of your form or an aspect of your mental game and put the score totally on the back burner. I'll bet dollars to donuts (where did that term come from anyway???), in time, you'll be able to aproach the sport again with a fresh, new outlook and renewed appreciation of why you really do love this sport.

Good answer.

I still like talking to my archery friends and going to league's and such, maybe I'm just tired of keeping score.