You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Hybrid View

Default Ok, Who wants to talk to a TOTAL beginner?

I'm interested in learning about archery as a hobby. I used to target shoot with pistols, but it lost it's appeal. I am interested in the physical aspects of archery- breathing, concetration, etc. I think it's almost meditative.
    I've got one gun left- a nice old Mossberg 500 that I'm seriously considering trading in at the local pawn shop for one of the bows I saw there. BUT, they only have compound bows.
    If I tried to start with that, would I hate life?
    What do beginnners typically start with?
    What are the merits of Recurve vs other types?
    What kind of things should I look for in buying a bow?
    I'm 6'4", have long reach and pretty strong. What's a good weight to work with? What about strings & arrows? Cost, durability, etc.
    There's an archery range that I'm probably going to go check out on Saturday and ask questions, but I want to get as many sources of info as possible.
    I'm open to any advice.
    Thanks!

Bilbo, you should check out http://www.huntersfriend.com/bowselection.htm
    to tell you all you need to know about bows. I'm open to all your questions. Just PM me and I'll see if I can help. As for your bow weight question, I would look for an archery shop in your area to test out bows before you decide on one.

Default help a beginner

my advice would be to go to a pro shop that has a various amount of recurves to choose from. if recurves are what you want? ask the shop to let you shoot as many as you can. dont let a sales staff sell you on a particular bow cause of brand name or its price. after you shoot a few. you will be able to feel out the one you like the best. then see if you can afford it. its better to save money for a bow you like. if funds arent there. than buy a bow you dont like cause its in your price range. just some info. for ya!!!