You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default New Prospective Archer Looking For Advice.

Hi, Im currently very new to archery (I got a bow an older Darton 20MX Compound bow for My birthday) and I wanted some advice. It is an older bow, I was wondering if there would be any obstacles to using this one. It needs both a arrow rest, and sights, but Im a college student and dont want to go overboard. I am used to firearms, but this is my first compound bow. I had a few basic questions i was hoping you can help me out with.

1. Do you need sights or can you shoot the bow like a re-curve?
    2. Do you need a release? I see most people using one. Is it necessary?
    3. Is there anything I absolutely need? Im willing to spend money but I don't have alot.

I was basically wondering if there were any minimalist archers who didn't use all of the fancy gear? Most of it confuses me. If so can you please give me advice? I want to hopefully hunt by deer season. I know its a bit ambitious but I want to give it a shot.

Thank you,
    Humble Student.
    P.S. I accidentally posted this under the wrong thread. I apologize.
    Last edited by hashimgambit; 05-20-2014 at 04:24 AM. Reason: wrong thread

1. Do you need sights or can you shoot the bow like a re-curve? There is no rule that you need to use a sight for compounds, however you will find it to be a much nicer and more accurate set-up using them. That being said you do not have to spend $100 or more for a sight that will work. A sight that utilizes fiber optic pins will be the most available and usually the best. You will also want a peep sight to assist with the sight picture.