You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Thumb or Back tension release for spots?

I am new to the spot shooting thing.........thinking of joining the local league, I noticed no one shoots a wrist strap release there.

Is a BT or a Thumb actuated release that big of difference on your scores?

The prices are pretty high too for a target release, guess I better try one before I buy one to know if I like it.
    New Breed Archery-Genetix 28.5"/ 60lbs & 365gr. = 285 FPS
    New Breed Archery- Eclipse 65/28.5" & 370gr. = 291 FPS
    Bowtech- 82nd Airborne 28.5"/ 60lbs. & 325gr. = 327 FPS
    Strother Archery- SR-71 28.5"/65lbs. & 370gr. = 303 FPS

Site Guru

Quote Originally Posted by mdewitt71 View Post
    I am new to the spot shooting thing.........thinking of joining the local league, I noticed no one shoots a wrist strap release there.

The prices are pretty high too for a target release, guess I better try one before I buy one to know if I like it.
    yup! I noticed a huge improvement in accuracy when I switched to a thumb release.
    No I'm not dead

Quote Originally Posted by Dredly View Post
    yup! I noticed a huge improvement in accuracy when I switched to a thumb release.
    which thumb release are you using dred????
    I cut things up and split them down!

Site Guru

Quote Originally Posted by BOWMAN View Post
    which thumb release are you using dred????
    The TRU BAll Pro Diamond in Caliper head. Its the older model with the round trigger (not the diamond shaped one). I love it! my groups shrink to 1/2 an inch at 20 yards or closer with it. with my wrist release I shoot about a 1 - 1 1/2 ground at 20 yards and it gets worse from there.

I have a horrible time using the Wrist release for a few reasons:

- Slides up on me
    - Velcro is hard to get the same every time
    - Hard to find my anchor point w/ the wirst release