You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Youth Bow Purchase Advice needed.

Hello everyone,

My son's b-day is today and he turned 10. I figured it would be enough time for me to get him a bow, practice all summer and be ready for the season this fall.

I want to get him a youth bow. Does anyone have any advice. I want him to have a nice bow. I don't want to get him one of the "starter" kit bows. I'm a very seasoned flyfishing veteran and I know too much about the "beginners starter kit" sets that I know I don't want to do that with him with a bow. My thought is to take him to the local archery shop to get him fully measure and fit for draw, string length and draw weight. My intention then will be to seek out a used youth bow. Does anyone have any advice of which bow is a good youth bow to seek out on the used level and which is not? Then, what is a good price to expect for a used one of these bows?

Thanks,

Brinx

Default youth bow

Quote Originally Posted by Brinx View Post
    Hello everyone,

My son's b-day is today and he turned 10. I figured it would be enough time for me to get him a bow, practice all summer and be ready for the season this fall.

I want to get him a youth bow. Does anyone have any advice. I want him to have a nice bow. I don't want to get him one of the "starter" kit bows. I'm a very seasoned flyfishing veteran and I know too much about the "beginners starter kit" sets that I know I don't want to do that with him with a bow. My thought is to take him to the local archery shop to get him fully measure and fit for draw, string length and draw weight. My intention then will be to seek out a used youth bow. Does anyone have any advice of which bow is a good youth bow to seek out on the used level and which is not? Then, what is a good price to expect for a used one of these bows?

Thanks,

Brinx