You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Guardian or Hoyt Pro Elite?

I am new to the sport, really new - like 1 month new. I picked up a browning rage one to get my feet wet and now I'm hooked and wanna upgrade.
    I've narrowed down my choices to 2 bows- the Guardian and the Hoyt Pro Elite. I don't plan on hunting, but want to compete in hunter class. People are telling me that if I only plan on hunting "paper targets" then a target bow is the way to go, and when it comes to target bows I should go with Hoyt. Other people are hyping up the Guardian. I was hoping to get some feedback from people who have probably forgotten more about archery then i'll ever know.
    (posted this originally in different thread by mistake)

I would say get the Hoyt if you are only target shooting. It will be a lot easier draw and longer axle to axle an maybe a little more forgiving. Get 50-60 lb limbs.Checkout the Mathews target bows as well.

Oh yeah
    SAVE A BUCK--SHOOT AN OUTFITTER

I agree with "SIN"ERGY about the Hoyt Pro Elite. There are a lot of guys winning the big tournaments with that bow.

The things to look for in a target bow are:

Smooth drawing - I currently on a 4 month injury time out because of a Guardian. I tried to draw one that was not set up for me and had too much draw weight for me. It probably wouldn't have been a problem if I had quit after trying it just once. It has an unusual draw curve that loads the bow arm shoulder very differently than other bows.

Fit - It's important to have the bow's length exactly right for you. You've probably heard that it is impossible to hold the bow perfectly still while aiming. But if you will experiment with DL and shoulder alignment, you can be perfectly still for the "moment of truth". The key is draw length. This means that DL adjustability is important for your first target bow.