You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Greetings and bow tuning

Hello everyone. I am new to the site. Just browsing through some archery sites and came across this forum and liked what I read.

To give you a little background. I have been bowhunting for over 32 years. My first compound was a 6 wheeled Bear Whitetail, shot that bow for several years. Up graded to a Hoyt something and shot it for 18 years. Heck I'm back from the day when fiberglass arrows were the rage. I'm from a small town and didn't realize how far archery technology had come until about 4 yrs ago I stepped into an archery shop looking to buy my son a bow. 2 days later I was the owner of a Mathews Legacy. Unbelievable compared to my old bow. I did take a lot of deer with my old set up though. I still laugh about it. I now shoot the Switchback.

The past 2 yrs I have taken an intrest in working on my own equipment. In the past I wasnt to concerned with tuning. All I needed was to be able to put arrows into a circle the size of a skoal can at 20 yards. But, now I am learning all I can with tuning and set up. I've really learned a lot these past 2 yrs. I have read everything I can on the subject. I've since taken each of my bows completely apart, several times, put them back together and tuned them to learn all I can about what I own. I've become fairly sufficient with the processes and what it takes to get a bow in tune. I THOUGHT.

I was reading one of the threads on this site and it was talking about cam timing on a single cam bow.????? I think it was a Mathews. Is this the same thing as putting the cam in its optimal position? What I do now is make sure the string and cable length are correct, then check the ATA and brace height. They are usually pretty close to specs just by doing this. I also check to see if the two alignment holes on the cam run paralles with the string and it is always pretty close.