You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Recurve Shooters

Hello to all, I am new to this site, and was wanting some honest opinions or suggestions. I have been bowhunting for about 14 years now, and am thinking of getting into shooting a recurve (but probably not for 3D). I am not going to got the traditional route at first (shooting off the shelf, or with open sights), so it would need to have all the hardware to make this possible. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

in Dixie Home of the Brave and land of the Free

Quote Originally Posted by KYHUNTER View Post
    Hello to all, I am new to this site, and was wanting some honest opinions or suggestions. I have been bowhunting for about 14 years now, and am thinking of getting into shooting a recurve (but probably not for 3D). I am not going to got the traditional route at first (shooting off the shelf, or with open sights), so it would need to have all the hardware to make this possible. Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.
    Not much on them recuves anymore. We shot em in tha early 70s till tha compounds came out. Just had a recurve bow and some cedar arrows a glove and shot.

I did'nt even know what a nock point was.

Switchback xt BYC LOOP- SHOOT NOW56# 385gr 2312 Eclipse 100gr Muzzy 256fps SEPTER RANGER STRINGS, 4th axis,335 jammers @ 61# =285 fps

I can't suggest a particlar model, but don't go too heavy on the lbs. It's tougher to draw a 60lb recurve than compound. I don't know what your DL might be, but if your tall and/or long armed, stick with at least a 62" bow. I'm 6 feet tall and a 58" recurve puts a hurtin on the fingers. Ebay might be a good choice if you want to jump in cheap. Get an old Ben Pearson or Shakespeare in about 35-40 lbs, get a chepo screw on recurve sight, a stick on rest, and have at it. This would be your first recurve?

Default RE-curve

HA,bud
    I just got back to a recurve for fun.