You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Official Deer Thread

ok..this is how it works. just post the biggest deer ( or buck ) you missed. I missed a nice 8 last year. my bow hit off my top part of my climber and threw the arrow like 10 feet high. buck would prolly scored around 90-120
    "I have a passion for whitetail deer, not a passion for killing them. The fact that I deer hunt does not make me their enemy, but their guardian."
    I play snake

I lost a 140-150 class 10 point several years ago (thats why I wont shoot expandables anymore). I wish I would have missed I was sick for weeks after that. It still bugs me to this day!
    That course was so easy I even missed a target !!

Default Missed...

I missed a big, big buck. I'm not good at scoring deer, but he was at least an 8 point and was old. Very old. His face was almost all changed in color and he had a neck that was just massive.

Arrow caught on the pronged arrow rest and stripped off a feather. Arrow landed about halfway to the deer.

Ugh.

not sure this counts but my daughter missed a 168 14 point buck last year. she had 3 chances to shoot but the buck fever got her. 3 weeks later a guy on the lease next to me shot it. so thats how we know how big it is. she almost threw up she was breathing so hard. there i am next to her and no bow or anything having a heart attack watching him trot off.

ok now my turn. 7 years ago i had a 12 point buck come in behind me. he walked within 5 feet of me looking over my shoulder at my uncle across the field going to his truck to get toilet paper. he was on my right side so a fast shot wouldn't work. so i sat there for over an hour while he layed down 15 feet from me. i tried to pull and shoot but my butt and legs fell asleep and i went to the grown and missed fired the bow.