You are Unregistered, please register to be able to read posts in all forums and participate in the discussion.

Default Fixed Blade vs. Expandable

I am new to the world of archery and was wondering what was the point of an expandable vs. broadhead....any suggestions??

Banned

Expandables most times shoot more like a feild point. A fixed blade can sometimes have a mind of their own. You will get about 6 cazillion opinions on this subject. And welcome to the site

A fixed blade usually flies better and opens on contact with the animal. The only fixed blade I like is the Rage. Awesome wound hole. There are a number of fixed blade on the market that fly well. Of these I like the Slick Trick and the Muzzy's. You will get as many answers on this as you get responses. Find a shop that will let you try various stlyes for your setup and shoot them. Just make sure you match their weight with your arrow.

Welcome to the forum...
    It's all personal preference...The old expandables used to open over 290fps so they were no good in the faster bows but they have pretty much solved that...they do fly just like a feild point so there are less tuning issues...but some of the less expensive ones have don't open properly on hard quartering shots...so if you buy expandables buy good ones

I personally prefer fixed...I shoot Muzzy 3 blades and also some NAP Razorbacks...If you take some time to tune they fly just like a FP...

Quote Originally Posted by MoSkeeter0311 View Post
    A fixed blade usually flies better and opens on contact with the animal. The only fixed blade I like is the Rage. Awesome wound hole. There are a number of fixed blade on the market that fly well. Of these I like the Slick Trick and the Muzzy's. You will get as many answers on this as you get responses. Find a shop that will let you try various stlyes for your setup and shoot them. Just make sure you match their weight with your arrow.