Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > Beginners Archery Range

Old 11-28-2005, 12:47 PM   #1
oneida05

oneida05 is on a distinguished road
Default Friend wants to start bowhunting, total newb

Hey all, I'm a new member to this forum. I started bowhunting in '90 but haven't been hunting for about 8 years due to college, career, and loss of hunting areas. This is my first year back into the sport. Anyway, my g/fs brother is eager to start deer hunting (late in the season, I know), but I was thinking of finding him a used bow off ebay. Do you think it's a good idea? I shoot an old Oneida Aeroforce I've had since '94, so I'm not really up on the new single cam-super short bows out now. He's a pretty good sized dude and is fairly fit so I see no problem in him pulling a 70 + lb. bow. Do you have any brand suggestions for a used compound (apx $200, I ain't got alot of bank, y'know)? Also, I've forgotten how to measure someone for draw length. Don't you hold your arms out parallel to the ground and put your hands together and measure from chest to finger tips? Can anyone refresh my memory? Thanks!
oneida05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 08:42 AM   #2
Jesse Rcher

Jesse Rcher is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to Jesse Rcher
Oneida,

Checkout this page for a good explanation:
http://www.huntersfriend.com/finalize.htm
What Draw Length for Your Setup?

This is the best online bow comparison I've seen:
http://www.huntersfriend.com/2005-Bo...tions-main.htm