Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > Beginners Archery Range

Old 11-09-2009, 02:08 PM   #1
Harijan

Harijan is on a distinguished road
Default starting gear (post bow purchase)

Great site. I have spent several hours reading. I am just starting out in bow hunting. After trying out a dozen or so different bows I settled on a Tomkat. I found a great deal on a 2008 leftover (new) bare bow for $230. I am pretty confident I got a great deal on the bow, but the drawback is I don't have any of the stuff that normally comes in the tomkat package.

So my question is...If you had $150 to spend on accessories and a bare bow to spend it on and your end goal is to have a good starter set, what gear is most important, and what would you specifically get?

Peep?
Sight?
New grip?
Stabilizers?
Bow case?
Whisper Biscut?
Arrow rest?
Case?
Quiver?
String silencers?
Strings?
Cables?

I won't be hunting until next spring at the earliest, so I have plenty of time to practice and get comfortable with the bow. I just don't know what gear is most important, or what brands/models are best.

What would you tell your best friend to buy for accessories if they were just starting out?
Harijan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 02:37 PM   #2
WCH

WCH is on a distinguished road

Congrats on the Tomkat my dad had one that is one quick little bow, I think quicker than they advertise, $150 is not a whole lot to spend on accesorizing a bow these days. I will help you out later, if you have any questions just message me.
Old 11-09-2009, 07:20 PM   #3
J.Blay

J.Blay is on a distinguished road