Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > Beginners Archery Range

Old 01-06-2010, 01:21 AM   #1
Talgoran

Talgoran is on a distinguished road
Default Random questions from a novice!

Hi all! I'm a novice archer in need of some answers to some simple questions. I'd really appreciate any help you could give, I know some of the people in this forum are really knowledgeable (I've browsed). Just for background, I shoot a 25 lb. bare recurve. It's 66 or 68 inches...a "Mohegan Adult" bow from Greatree Archery. I've had it for about two years and it's doing fine.

1) Is my bow waterproof? I believe it's laminated...it's got a sheen on it. I would guess it is, but obviously I'd like to get a second opinion before I go shoot with it in the rain.

2) I'm thinking of trying to do some bowhunting later on. To my understanding, if you're going to hunt whitetail deer with a bow, you use a compound bow. So I was thinking...if I practice solely with a recurve barebow, will it be very hard for me to accustom to a large draw-weight compound bow with stabilizers and sights and all that? Do people generally make the transition well?

3) How do I know when I have achieved the max draw length or whatever it is called? I mean, if the arrow isn't pulled backward off the shelf, what's stopping me from pulling the string way back past my jaw (assuming I have a good anchor point) for maximum power? I assume it's bad to overdraw the bow, and it somehow results in loss of accuracy or something? I don't get it.

4) Breathing. I've heard different things from different people, and I'm not sure what the 'best' way is. Should I just breathe evenly as I draw and shoot, and pretty much ignore the issue? Should I inhale as I draw, then exhale while releasing tension in my string fingers? Or another method? What do you guys suggest?