Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Tournament Forum > Tournament Discussions

Old 01-23-2011, 03:14 PM   #1
tnoutdoorgirl

tnoutdoorgirl is on a distinguished road
Default Seeking advice for new archerist

I am new to archery. I AM HOOKED! Just bought a bow in May of 2010 and I love to shoot. I bought it for whitetail hunting. But, I enjoy it enough to continue finding new ways to shoot.
I am wondering what it would be like to shoot tournaments. I really have NO idea where to start or even if I would enjoy that kind of shooting. Trust me when I tell you that I know nothing of tournaments. Any words of wisdom from some of you seasoned tournament shooters?

Also, I was thinking of turkey hunting with it this Spring. Is that reasonable to consider for a brand new archery hunter? I did take a nice 8 with my bow this past deer season.

Finally, I know some folks who shoot squirrels with thier bows. Is it too early to try that?
tnoutdoorgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
Supermag

Supermag is on a distinguished road

Find a local club that is hosting some 3D shoots and try one of them out, tell them you're new and they'll probably put you in a group with some experienced shooters that will help you learn the rules and may give you a few tips along the way.

As for turkey hunting, I say why not. They are smaller targets with a small vital area but you can usually get them in pretty close with a decoy and some calling.

As for squirrel hunting, I'd wait until the season was open and know that you're going to break and lose several arrows but if that doesn't matter, go for it.
Supermag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:26 PM   #3
tnoutdoorgirl

tnoutdoorgirl is on a distinguished road