Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > Bowhunting forum
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2005, 08:34 PM   #1
Pinky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland,NC
Posts: 183
Pinky is on a distinguished road
Default Broadhead Tuning??

As bad as I hate to post brand names, because everyone has different opinions about what's best, I will in this instance in hopes of getting some info.

This year, I will be shooting the Easton Axis arrows for hunting. I have ran into a problem with getting broadheads to spin true on these arrows. Now, I do admit that the Axis arrows do not spin near as nicely as the ACC's I was using. But, the shaft is not the issue. The broadhead points are.

BTW, I am using Pine Ridge Archery Arrow Inspector to check the alignment of the broadhead with the shaft. CLICK HERE TO SEE the PRA ARROW INPECTOR

Here is what I am having problems with.

It appears that the broadheads do not screw completely into the shaft. There is a very small gap between the end of the shaft and the lock ring of the broadheads. I used the tool that came with the shafts to set the inserts, and , followed the directions to the letter. But, I guess it does not seat it deep enough.

The Steel Force broadheads seem to be OK. They have a screw down lock ring. Even tho there is a small gap, they seem to remain true spinning after being shot into the target. But, the Rocky Mountain Supreme XP's have a lock ring that compresses on the blades. After one shot, they no longer will spin true on the shaft.

Since the inserts are epoxy'd in, I can't seat them deeper. "O" rings didn't help.

Can someone give me some input here?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
Take a kid with you. Show them the Great Outdoors. Pass it on.
Pinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2005, 10:33 PM   #2
Chris
Administrator
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,074
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Default

If they do not seat all the way. I would get a tap and tap the insert deeper. Do only one arrow until you know it is helping. Might be tough because the hole doesn't go all the way through the insert.

The other option is to take one broadhead and grind of a small section of the threaded end making it shorter. The downside would be getting the weights the same. 1 or 2 grains should make much of a difference.
__________________
Chris Christenson - Admin
3DShoots.com - Find Archery Shoots near you
ObsessionArchery.com - Archery Supplies
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 08:55 PM   #3
Pinky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland,NC
Posts: 183
Pinky is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris
The other option is to take one broadhead and grind of a small section of the threaded end making it shorter. The downside would be getting the weights the same. 1 or 2 grains should make much of a difference.
THX Chris. Thru the day today I thought about this issue. Your advice is what I decided on. I figured to use my dremel tool to sand about an eighth inch off the threaded end of the ferrule. I have a scale, so, I could then check the weights.

I made a few phone calls to some of my buds today. And, BAM, guess what? This issue is common with the Axis arrows. One guy had an issue with the broadhead end of the shaft cracking/splitting under the same conditions.

Then, I find out that Easton makes a broadhead adapter ring that is supposed to be used to fill the void, and, stop the shaft splitting. I said cool.

Guess what? A dozen of them cost $15! Dang, this pushes the price of the Axis shafts into the ACC range. I am not a happy camper at this point.

I went back to Easton's web site and found that Easton has published this info in a way that does not warn you of using these shafts without the adapter ring. Nor, are the adapter rings included in your arrow purchase. They must be purchased seperately.

CLICK HERE TO SEE EASTON"S ST AXIS ARROW

If you click on the STAxis arrow, it shows the adapter rings. But, I never found a price, or, an outright recommendation to use them. GEEZ!!!

All that said, I hope that anyone looking to purchase Easton's ST AXIS arrows should consider an additional investment of about $15 for the adapter rings.

Heads up!
__________________
Take a kid with you. Show them the Great Outdoors. Pass it on.
Pinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2005, 11:03 PM   #4
Chris
Administrator
 
Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,074
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I guess I didn't read your first message close enough. If your using expandables that come all the way open where the blades hit the shaft then you need the broadhead adapter ring. If not then you don't.

I have had guys in our range slam them into 1.5" thick plywood and I can pull them out undamaged. (field points on axis).

They are very very tough.
__________________
Chris Christenson - Admin
3DShoots.com - Find Archery Shoots near you
ObsessionArchery.com - Archery Supplies
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2005, 06:20 PM   #5
glenny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: N.Illinios
Posts: 309
glenny is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to glenny
Default Fastenal

I got little O rings at fastenal,You can get any kind of nut,bolt or washer,of any size or diameter....
I have had a hard time finding certain screws and stuff before,almost had to try an get a machinist once just to get what I needed.I did find little o rings there for my steelforce. pennies.
glenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 08:45 PM   #6
Pinky
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cleveland,NC
Posts: 183
Pinky is on a distinguished road
Default

THX Glenny. We have a Fastenal store here. I'll check them out.

Chris, I have had no issues with the Axis arrows other than the fact that the "adapter rings" should be included if Easton recommends them. They are tough. They bury in deep on the 3D targets. I hope to see the same penetration come deer season.
__________________
Take a kid with you. Show them the Great Outdoors. Pass it on.
Pinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 09:47 PM   #7
glenny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: N.Illinios
Posts: 309
glenny is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to glenny
Default I just did up a half dozen Maxima shafts....

I got 4" wraps and 2.3 quickspins on em' and 100's up front,used the g5 tool and got them spinning true.
I will shoot them and see how they fly at 60 yards or so.
They seem to penatrate very well,they are going deeper then I expected them to.
glenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2004 3DShoots.com