Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > Bowhunting forum

Old 08-25-2005, 12:51 AM   #1
bl0964

bl0964 is on a distinguished road
Default Would like some advice on blinds versus tree stands

Hello,

This is such a great sight, lots of info and knowledge. I am new to archery, bought a PSE bow about 6 months ago from a friend at work to see if I would like the sport. I have been diligently practicing almost nightly to better my form, aim and distance. I am thoroughly looking forward to the season begining here in Kansas and would like some input on a blind versus a tree stand. I do not particularly care for heights so I am rather aprehensive about a tree stand. I have heard some benifits to a stand, i.e scent, longer range to prepare, etc. but have not heard to much about a blind other than the deer will "spot" you. I saw in another post that someone uses a blind for turkey hunting and this is also something that I would like to do in the future. Any insight on either would be most helpful.

Thanks
bl0964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:14 PM   #2
Pinky

Pinky is on a distinguished road

Welcome to the jungle.

Bowhunting will be alot of fun. I can guarantee that. You'll have some pitfalls, but you'll learn to avoid them. And, you'll master the art of harvesting game with a bow if you stick with it.

Treestands are good. They can increase your veiwing range. If you are hunting deer, they do help reduce the likelyhood of game winding you. Properly placed and set up, a treestand can help conceal your movement when it comes time to make the shot. Weather conditions, the direction the deer will be coming from, along with your approach to the location, can kill your elevated stand's effectiveness. It all depends on the area you are hunting.