Archery Forums 3DShoots.com
Find Archery Shoots near you  |   Advertise on 3DShoots.com

Go Back   Archery Forums 3DShoots.com > Archery Forum > General Archery Forum

Old 07-19-2007, 01:03 PM   #1
fogs

fogs is on a distinguished road
Default longbow vs. recurve vs. compound

Hey guys,
Im new to archery, but really want to buy myself a bow and some arrows and do target practice, therefore i wont be buying some super expensive bow. My question is however what type of bow should i get? Im leaning towards a recurve bow because:

Compounds are more expensive, i also kinda enjoy being more traditional and not super high tech. Im not planning on doing any hunting yet either.

I like longbows because they are traditional, but they seem a lot bigger and i tried shooting with one last summer and i felt it was a lot harder than recurve bows.

Recurve bows are kinda in the middle, slightly more traditional, yet not super hard to use. Any opinions?

Other thing: Im a tall guy (1.9m) and pretty strong, what length and mass rating (whatever its called) should i be looking for?

Thanx
fogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 05:20 PM   #2
BowhuntnHoosier
Bisquit.......

BowhuntnHoosier has a spectacular aura aboutBowhuntnHoosier has a spectacular aura aboutBowhuntnHoosier has a spectacular aura about

Quote:
Originally Posted by fogs View Post
Hey guys,
Im new to archery, but really want to buy myself a bow and some arrows and do target practice, therefore i wont be buying some super expensive bow. My question is however what type of bow should i get? Im leaning towards a recurve bow because:

Compounds are more expensive, i also kinda enjoy being more traditional and not super high tech. Im not planning on doing any hunting yet either.

I like longbows because they are traditional, but they seem a lot bigger and i tried shooting with one last summer and i felt it was a lot harder than recurve bows.