Bowhunting Technique

Discussion in 'Bowhunting forum' started by Dugongberbulu, Jun 4, 2008.

1. Dugongberbulu

Dugongberbulu New Member

OK, so I've been away from my bow & the woods for the better part of 4 years (due to living in a nice and sunny tropical paradise, with lots of pretty fish, but no hunting). I hunting for years with a bow, but am self-taught (which should means I have lots of bad habits).

I've made a committment to get back into the woods with my bow...

But, I want to do it right :cool:

So, I would like to work my draw-weight back to about 70-ish pds and be able to consistently group (~3") at about 40-45yds (over time).

That having been said, its my form I'm concerned about. I definitely punch the release and hold the bow with a death grip, probably from being self taught and having "sometimes" to shoot really quickly (no comment).

My question to the bowhunters out there: how have you found a balance between form and real shooting situations? do you adapt to the shot? limit yourself to opportunities where shooting with "perfect" form is possible? or just let it rip?

I would like to find a balance that works for me and dedicate my practice time to setting the muscle memory to it.

Thanks for your comments and suggestions!

2. dbdcougar

dbdcougar He Who Drops His Bow Arm

They don't seem to be for everybody but that one thing I really like about the Hind; if you can't get the correct picture it is very obvious you don't have the shot. Now for puching the release for example it's no help - but there is no fudging with them and talking yourself into "having a shot". As far as draw weight just remember it's going to be easier to handle more weight in practice than when it's cold and windy and.........

3. pred8er

pred8er He who eats fuzzy animals

First off: :welcome: