ethical shot range

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by phillip, Apr 25, 2007.

1. phillip

phillip Hog wild

hello out there,
    Im new to bow hunting, and when i say new i mean i have only been shooting for 6 months.
    I shoot every day, im consistant at 40 yards. but if i was abel to get consistant at 50, or even 60 yards would that be an ethical shot? what I mean is, what kind of penatration could i expect from a carbon arrow, 60 pound bow, and mechanical broad head at those kind of ranges on whitetail deer?

Thanks for any help
    Phillip

2. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

Ethical means something different to everyone.....I have been hunting and shooting for the last 15 years...... I will not shoot at a deer more than 30yrds, in the woods were I hunt, too many things can go wrong in even 30 yrds....it is only amplified at longer distances......to me the idea of bowhunting is not only to take an animal w/stick and string....but to also get them as close as possible and still close the deal......that is my opinion

3. longcut36

longcut36 Senior Member

I wouldn't take a shot over 40 yds. which I have only done twice. all the others were 20yds are less. if you have to take a 50-60 yard shot,your probably not hunting right. or stand is in wrong place. as for penetration it would probably go Thur the deer if you got a good hit in the heart,lung area

4. Sammy PSU

Sammy PSU Member