how to enter stand in middle of timber?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting forum' started by jwilkey84, Jun 28, 2008.

1. jwilkey84

jwilkey84 New Member

I have been bowhunting my grandad's land for 3 years now, and there are some really nice bucks runnning around out there, but I have yet to bag one with the bow. I have a stand that is in the timber, and for the most part I have been using it for early morning hunts. I get there about an hour before daylight and just walk in as quietly as I can, and hope that the deer I do rustle, lay back down since they cannnot see me. The problem is, I can see deer constantly crossing a place where 3 ditches all come together, and I want a stand there. It is about 200 yards deeper into the timber than my current stand. My question is am I being an idiot by walking through a bedding area during the darkness to get to a stand that I know will produce deer sightings? How is the best way to go about getting to my preferred location? I know the deer are there, but I hate rustling them on my way in. I mean, do I need to get in the stand the night before and camp out in the tree to avoid scaring the deer!! Or do I neeed to place my stand on the outside of the timber and shoot them on the way out? The problem with that is, I never know which way they are going to take off in the morning. there are literally hundreds of deer paths where I hunt. There are really mature bucks, and I would like to shoot one. this year I was chasing a 12 point typical with split G3's. The year before that I had my eye on a 16 point non typical. I just cant outsmart these deer! I am new to this forum, so I will add some pics of the deer in my area and sheds I have found. I would like some ideas on stand placement as well thanks. Maybe some techniques that some of you have used in the past?

http://s281.photobucket.com/albums/kk205/ownerator84/deer/

2. J.C.

J.C. New Member

:welcome: :welcome: :welcome:

great looking sheds.