Nervous!!

Discussion in 'Bowhunting forum' started by brandon45, May 15, 2008.

1. brandon45

brandon45 New Member

hey guys I'm new to the sport and continue having questions and doubts....
    my first question has to do with my bow, I bought a mathews fx2 60# 27" draw. When I got it I fell in love with how it feels looks and shoots but I'm afraid I'm not pulling enough poundage because it is really easy for me which is good but I want to know that I have enough power to take down a deer at 35-40 yds? Also is it bad to shoot about 100 times a day for the bow?

2. J.C.

J.C. New Member

60# is plenty for deer. 100 shots a day wont hurt the bow, but I would pay close attention to your rotator cuffs. if you start getting sore I would back off a little.

3. brandon45

brandon45 New Member

I have never gotten sore in the least ever I work my back and shoulders out alot in the gym and a 60 # bow is nothing for me which is why I wish I went 70# but this bow feels incredible and if you guys think its enough to blow through big game I am happy

4. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

60# is plenty for deer and most game animals in North America...

5. OneMustFall

OneMustFall Member

I also agree with this statement..................

6. J.Blay

J.Blay New Member

I shoot at 60# and my last 6 kills were pass throughs.

7. trussoni

trussoni Ninja Fighting Fool

i have a Drenalin it was only 60 lb limbs when i got it. switched the limbs out to 70. made a difference but im still only at 67.

8. brandon45

brandon45 New Member

ou can just put diff limbs on to up the poundage? How much does it cost?

9. J.C.

J.C. New Member

If you got a dealer to order a new set from Mathews it would probably be about $125. you could probably find a used set in the ArcheryTalk classifieds for about half that and then pay your dealer a fee to change them out.

10. brandon45

brandon45 New Member

Do you think I should do it?

11. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius