new bow...draw weight, and trigger release

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by supermarvin76, Nov 4, 2007.

1. supermarvin76

supermarvin76 Junior Member

I am an extreme novice to archery and bow hunting. Ok, I have never actually been bow hunting but I am in the learning stage and plan to make trips when I am ready.

I have owned a bow about 10 years ago but it was not set up for me and I barley shot that one.

I have done a bit of research and went out to Gander Mountain this morning and bought a Fred Bear Instinct. $292 total out the door. I did not purchase any other accessories with it.

ANYWAY....on with my questions:

1. I was thinking that I would like a trigger release (if that’s what they’re called) but when I attempted to shoot with one today at Gander Mountain, I was not able to draw. I find this crazy that it makes that much of a difference. Any advice with that?

2. The draw weight is set at 50lbs right now. It is not difficult for me, nor is it easy for me. What muscles are used to draw? And, what is the best way to make it easier to draw?

Any other general info, tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks

2. bullfiddle

bullfiddle Movin on up!!!

I am not sure what type of release you were trying to shoot with but I have found that a release with a wrist strap is a little easier to draw with than a hand held.

You need to learn to use the muscles in your back and shoulders to draw your bow. You will learn this with practice.