New to this

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by DragonHunter, Dec 30, 2006.

1. DragonHunter

DragonHunter Junior Member

I am fairly new to this but i actually think i got lucky. i ended up with an old onida tomcat for xmas. Tho i ended up taking it to a person that came highly recommended at a sporting good store to get the string replaced because the string was frayed badly. as he removed the string the bottom leaf fell totally off. I think i actually got lucky tho the Bow person there told me that he could fix it but it would cost more then it was worth. He ended up trading me a PSC? he had on the wall for it. Also taking the time to answer any question i had by pulling different bows off the wall and showing me what everything did. My question is how can i tell if he is trying to hustle me or what. also before he took the old string off he said the string was off center. and when he pulled the string back he said it was outa time.

My next question is do i need all the accesories and stuff to start out with . like stabalizer. fiber optic sights. a whisker biskit( whatever the hell that is), silencers. LIke i said im fairly new most of what i do know is more word of mouth from talking to people. any help would be appreciated. But im hoping i got lucky and found someone that is going to help me get a good start and actually not try and sell me every lil thing that is not needed of yet. at this point in time i am just wanting to learn to shoot and just target.

2. brokenarrow

brokenarrow Evil Genius

Welcome to the forum...
    What PSE( just curious)?? Sounds like he has good intentions, but it can be hard to say. As long as he's not trying to sell you some high end bow you should be fine...Don't be afraid to ask questions...We'll help however we can...or not help...:laugh:
    Who is this guy??What I mean is, is it a small archery shop or a big sporting goods store??

Unless you shoot instinctively (bare bow) you will need some acc.