Starting over

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by craigo, Dec 13, 2007.

1. craigo

craigo Junior Member

Hi all... I'n a newbie here. I haven't bowhunted in about 4 years, and my bow has been sitting in the garage out back in a hard case all that time. I haven't even touched it yet, but boy am I itching to shoot since I now have a good yard for practicing again. Here's the deal... I bought the bow because I wanted to be able to get into the woods earlier in season. So, I found the first (used) thing I could afford and taught myself how to shoot it, knowing nothing about technique, mechanics, draw lengths, etc. I got good enough with it, I could consistently shoot 2-3" groups at 25 yards. I'm wanting to get it back out and shoot. Just a few questions... Is it bad for it to just sit for that long without being used? Does it matter that my anchor point is down just below my shoulder instead of the traditional spot on the cheek? I guess that means my draw length is wrong? Any inpu here is greatly appreciated. This is my first post, and I love this forum already! thanks

2. Wheely

Wheely Wheely Threads

Anchor just below your shoulder??? Could you take some pics? I would like to see that :biggrin1:

I let my bow sit for about 5 years, it shot just fine since the strings weren't too old when I put it away, but I went ahead and put new strings and cables on it and WOW!! it made a big difference.

AND...

:welcome: Glad to have ya!

3. J.C.

J.C. New Member

Yep, sounds like your draw is a touch too long. :D Like Wheels said, if you could post some pics we'll try to help with your form. How hot does your garage get? I doubt there's anything wrong with the bow, but a fresh set of string and cables probably would be good for piece of mind.

:welcome: to the forum. :welcome:

4. craigo

craigo Junior Member