Thumb release

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by robert32904, Nov 20, 2007.

1. robert32904

robert32904 Junior Member

I have been shooting a wrist release for 3D targets. I am now considering a thumb release. I've looked at Carter, Scott and TRU Ball, almost to many models to make a choice. Any pros or cons?
    Thanks

2. 'SIN'ERGY

'SIN'ERGY Senior Member

Check out the Cascade Model 10. The people at Spott-Hogg make it, I have been using it for 2 yrs now and love it. I tried some of those you mentioned and went with this one...

3. jcmorgan31

jcmorgan31 Prodigal Son

You are right....there are too many to choose from......:dizzy:

It is hard to make suggestions when releases (especially T-handles) are a personal fit type of thing. I have three T-handles at my house right now. Two tru-balls and a Stan. I shoot the Stan the most and it is the most comfortable in my hand.

Best advice I can give it to try to make it to a place that has several to choose from and shoot them a little.

4. Jay Are

Jay Are Junior Member

Trying to figure out the best release is not always an easy thing... since most of them have different customization options on for tension, release placement and shooting styles. JCM said it best, try as many as you can before you decide which one to go with. And even when this happens, you may still not be happy with it.

I personally shoot the Stan X2 four fingers, which I find to be very comfortable in the hand. But it took 2 other releases before I was happy with this one. :doh:

5. jcmorgan31

jcmorgan31 Prodigal Son

A bow's grip and your release are the two items you actually put your hands on. They are the items most influenced by "feel" and chosen by an archer's personal preference.

Like Jay Are said, there are also many different types like hinges, thumb triggers, pull throughs and then different shapes and sizes of each of them. Gettin your hands on them is very important....

6. MO.HICK

MO.HICK Senior Member