yardage??????????

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by NUT, May 3, 2007.

1. NUT

NUT Junior Member

i'm fairly new to competitive archery, and i do pretty good but more times than not i'll miss judge a shot or 2 and cost me 1 or 2 places in the tournament. i need to be more consistant. suggestions please!!!!!

2. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

WELCOME glad to have you with us.:rockon: I use the cut in half rule and go from there. Practice is the best thing for accurate yardage estimating. I use to do alot of stump shooting to get better. I do not shoot alot of 3d but alot of fellas on here do so I'll bet they can get you some good ideas for getting better just give them all a while to check in. :peace:

3. MoBowman

MoBowman Senior Member

Carry a range finder everywhere you go. Spend time guessing the range and checking it with the RF. Front yard, back yard, parking lots, woods. In no time at all you will be right on, or just a yard or so off.

4. NUT

NUT Junior Member

thanks guys. greatly appreciated

5. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

get a faster bow....:noidea:

the other guys have good answers.....:rockon:

6. CSS Shooter

CSS Shooter Senior Member

This is what I do and it might work for you. I find 20 yards first and go from there to the target and then I find half way and double it. Then I come from the target back 10 yards and come back from there. If I get 2 different numbers say 38 and 40 yards I split the difference and dail it for 39. On the half way I usually add 1 yard to what I dail for forgivness. Hope some of this helps you good luck.

7. Holy Smokes

Holy Smokes Senior Member

all these are good.
    I will try ta find 5 yds then I step down ta 2 1/2 yards and ta 10 then 2.5 yrds intervals till I get ta tha target.
    I Also go 5 yrds some times to 10 yrds then 5 yrd intervals to target.just depends on what type of ground I am tryin ta range.