3D Newbie Here.

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by JustinB, Oct 26, 2016.

1. JustinB

JustinB New Member

Hey guys. I'm new to archery, and even newer to 3D shooting. I have no idea what I am doing so far. I just have some confusion I'd like to sort out. I have a Hoyt Alphamax bow, set at #60 so far, 28"draw. I'd just like to know how I should set up my bow for 3D and what arrows I should use/weight. I haven't built an arrow before,so I am also curious on what inserts to use, or can I buy a good arrow already set for me?
    - should I remove silencers for 3D shooting?
    - my drop away arrow rest has fletching marks on it.
    - how large of a stabilizer do I really need? I see some insane lengths.
    - fat or skinny arrow?
    - I can't find any speed balls, should I even bother with speed nock?
    - I have a 5 pin sight for hunting, should I go to one pin?

Sorry for so many questions, I just want to tune my bow to its best capabilities so I can get to my best capabilities and can factor out equipment as an error.
    I also have a recurve but I will leave that mess for another discussion in a few more months.
    Thanks in advance guys. I love archery and hope to see some of you at competitions.

2. dbdcougar

dbdcougar He Who Drops His Bow Arm

1) silencers are fine
    2) Might be worth having a shop check centershot on that rest
    3) Stabs will depend on what class you want to shoot. Hunter class 12" is it; the target type stabs will put you at longer distances.
    4) If you are a top type shooter the fat arrows could maybe give a small edge; for we common folk not a big deal
    5) From what I have read you are buying ~5fps; again are you a top shooter that could maybe under the right circumstances gain an edge by that very small difference