Bifocals and Peep sights

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by MCOrlando, Apr 4, 2006.

1. MCOrlando

MCOrlando Banned

I am new to this sport and have become addicted very quickly. I'm shooting a compound bow with a basic Truglow sight. My middle age eyes and bifocals are causing a problem focusing on the target through the peepsight. I'm thinking of trying a rear type sight, similiar to the Hind Sight. Does anyone have any experience with these?

One local archery shop told me if my anchor points are consistant enough I don't need a peep sight at all. I can see his point, but feel I am too green at this point to do without any type of rear sight at all.

I know I shouldn't lean my head into the string, but should keep the head up straight. I can't seem to get the peep sight in a location where I can focus on the target. I can focus on the sight pins, but then the target is so blurry I can't sight in on it. I therefore don't know what else to do except try the Hind Sight or something like it. I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has tried them before I spend $50.

2. 3dhunter

3dhunter Member

I actually wear no-line bifocals. However, I find the small version of glasses I wear doesn't really work very well, not enough lense and blurry. I had to go to the aviator kind, bigger with enough room to see. I reccommend getting them tinted in "shooter yellow", had them for over 7 year and love them. Also check your stance and head positioning. A slight lean-in can be beneficial.

3. bengapple

bengapple Junior Member

I'm in the same boat

I wear graduated bifocals but I have not been able to shot with them on. So I have been struggeling with out any glasses. I can see the target just fine but my pins become a blur. I haven't tryed to shot with my glasses on. I guess I just plain thought that it would not work. Could you be a tad more detailed in your description of the shooters yellow glasses that you had made?

4. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!