Blind for Bow Hunting?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting forum' started by kimbercarry, Nov 29, 2007.

1. kimbercarry

kimbercarry Junior Member

I just started shooting last year around this time. My state has a 2nd season starting Dec 26 and I'm thinking about going out a few times. Here is the thing....I've never hunted for big game before, just small game so I consider myself a novice. A treestand would seem to be a bit much for me right now so I am consdering a blind. Would this be sufficient? Does anyone have any suggestions for me? Let me know and thank in advance.

2. hansel

hansel Member

I have a Ameristep Brickhouse, and it's large enough for me, and my son to hunt in, plus it's half the price of a Double Bull

3. Dens228

Dens228 Senior Member

My experience with deer and blind hunting is this:

Small/young deer don't seem to mind it

Large/older deer don't spook but will notice it and often keep their distance

It really limits your ability to see deer in the area

Until this year I mainly used my blind. This year I've seen more deer and saw them much sooner which allows you to prepare for the shot.

If you have a specific spot that really limits the deers approach such as a creek crossing or a fence opening I really think that makes the blind more effective.

4. greenhorn100

greenhorn100 Junior Member

my 13 year son started bow hunting this year and i set him up on a blind. we didnt have any problems with good bucks coming near bow range 25 yards. find where the deer are traveling and set your blind at your maxium shooting distance a week or two before you hunt let the deer get use to it and get ready.

5. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

I am gonna look into getting a good blind, I have been using tree stands for so long, I need a change of pace:rockon:

6. Dens228

Dens228 Senior Member

Yes, if you leave it out the deer will get used to it.

Where I hunt my blind would become someone else's blind.

7. kimbercarry

kimbercarry Junior Member