D-Loop and a Rope Release??

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by HOYT4LIFE, Mar 8, 2007.

1. HOYT4LIFE

HOYT4LIFE Guest

Why does it seem that everyone says not to shoot a rope release on a d-loop? I hear this alot but I seem to do pretty well with this setup.I get alot of serving wear from my cascade 10 just shooting it from the string. That is why I put the d-loop on. Is there really a reason for not doing it this way???

2. bullspotter

bullspotter Senior Member

hummm i have no idea, As i think about it i really dont see a problem, but im not real sure....... I would think it would be fine..

3. bfisher

bfisher Senior Member

You mean you're getting serving wear from the rope on the release? Wow, I've never had that happen and I've been shooting rope releases for over 30 years---still do---Cascade M-8. I have had servings separate just under the nock, but that was due to poor serving jobs. Took me 25 years to find that out.

That being said, the only disadvantage I can see to using the rope on a loop is that it would stretch me out too far, throwing my body out of alignment. Like having too long a draw. I shoot a 27" draw and just can't see shortening to 26-26.5" just to accommodate a loop.

Not sure if you're aware of it, but Spott Hogg now has the Saturdat Night Special, Cascade's release for loop shooters. From the posts I've read it's supposed to be the cat's meow. I'd try one if I intended to shoot a loop, but goodness, I've got almost $1000 worth of releases now.

4. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

I would'nt see any reason why you should not use a d-loop with a rope release.:noidea:

5. red44

red44 Senior Member

The only real drawback is not getting the speed of a little extra draw lenth.

6. two_shoes

two_shoes YOU! Get in my belly!

Biggest problem with doing both is the change in draw length. + .5" for the D-loop and +.5" for the release rope.....