Hello there. I'm a newbie looking to get into archery. =)

Discussion in 'Beginners Archery Range' started by Feoen, Mar 16, 2008.

1. Feoen

Feoen New Member

Hey there everyone. I think it's great to have a community for archery out there. What a simple Google search can bring up is fantastic!

By any means, I'm a senior in high school. In gym this year we are doing an archery unit. Right now we are working with recurve bows, but towards the end of the unit my teachers said we will be trying out compound bows.

For many years I had wanted to do archery, but as with most things I was never able to find any initiative for my parents to support my interests. So, the idea went on the back burner until now.

I did a little research and found that most of the beginning ideas are basically what we have been taught in class: arrows should be about one inch longer than your arms' length, begin with recurve, etc. What else should I know?

My main issue here is the legality of archery. In gym class we are limited to three shots, then we have to pass the bow off to our partner, wait for them to be done, then we get to shoot again. I hate this.

I want to be able to shoot in my own backyard. My father and I went around to some outdoor sporting places and all but ONE had archery equipment... And the one that did only had hunting bows, and maybe one or two types of what looked like longbows. They had all the arrows and pads and such, however. Also, to my dismay, they didn't have any form of targets or anything.

Where am I supposed to buy archery equipment? I live in Bergen County, NJ, if that helps.