Help with Target Panic

Discussion in 'General Archery Forum' started by STRO, Feb 8, 2007.

1. STRO

STRO get'n rid of target panic

Does anyone have any advice on how to correct my target panic. After I draw I bring bow up to the target and I get locked in right under the twelve ring. It's like I am froze there. I've thought about sighting my bow in so it will shoot a little high and just deal with the target panic that way. But I would rather solve this problem rather then just masking the problem. Help me please!!!!!!!

2. CSS Shooter

CSS Shooter Senior Member

Bring from the top down and see if that helps any

3. BUNNYMAN

BUNNYMAN I pray for you!

I shoot w/my pin right under where I want to hit.....the pin always settled there so thats where I left it.....

I have been shooting that way for almost 2 years......

4. STRO

So are you saying your arrow hits higher then where your pin is locked in at or your aiming point?

5. Holy Smokes

Holy Smokes Senior Member

Boys it sure is funny how a little piece of paper can spook up a big ol boy. Just focus on your form go through the proceedure in your head before the shoot and then during the shot and bingo your mind is where it belongs in your head to your body and not up at that little ol piece of paper. HS :smokin:

Ahummmm Coach HS:biggrin1:

6. BowhuntnHoosier

BowhuntnHoosier Bisquit.......

I have heard of guys where when they done this the problem just kept getting worse and worse. They were having to hold way below the target to adjust for it. My experience was lots and lots of blind bailing followed by about 2 weeks of the 5 yard drill then 10 yard drill. Just have to retrain you brain. Trust me though as boring as blind bailing is it is a great excercise. Here are a couple of articles that helped alot which was written by Griv(George Ryals IV). Good luck I hope this helps you out.

7. STRO